Atherton Volcano - John Seach


Queensland, Australia

17.5 S, 144.5 E
Lava-field Province

Atherton Tableland SW of Cairns, north Queensland.

Volcano Features
More than 50 eruptive centres cover an area of 1800 sq km.
Formations include lava shields, cinder cones, maars, and diatremes.

Hallorans Hill
This is a shield volcano on the edge of Atherton town.

Mount Quincan and the Seven Sisters
These are young cinder cones. Mt Quincan is 190 m above the surrounding landscape, and contains two craters.
The Seven Sisters are located along the Yungaburra - Atherton road. They formed along a fissure.

Malanda Volcano
This is a 3 million year old shield volcano. It is heavily eroded.

Mount Hypipamee Crater
This is a diatreme located 12 km south of Atherton town.

There are three maars at the volcano.
Lake Barrine, Lake Eacham, and Bromfield swamp.

Further reading
Stephenson, P.J., Burch‐Johnston, A.T., Stanton, D. and Whitehead, P.W., 1998. Three long lava flows in north Queensland. Journal of Geophysical Research: solid earth103(B11), pp.27359-27370.

Whitehead, P.W., Stephenson, P.J., McDougall, I., Hopkins, M.S., Graham, A.W., Collerson, K.D. and Johnson, D.P., 2007. Temporal development of the Atherton Basalt Province, north Queensland. Australian Journal of Earth Sciences54(5), pp.691-709.

Atherton Volcano Eruptions

Eruption less than 100,000 years ago, and possibly as recent as 10,000 years ago.