Volcanoes of Papua New Guinea | John Seach


Papua New Guinea contains the most active volcanoes in the South West Pacific. The volcanoes strech in an arc from the north coast of New Guinea near the border with Indonesia, to Bougainville Island in the east. Volcanoes in Papua New Guinea occur in nine volcanic provinces.

Active and famous volcanoes in Papua New Guinea include, Manam, Karkar, Lamington, Langila, Ulawun, Rabaul and Bagana.

Further reading
Fisher, N.H., 1957. Catalogue of the Active Volcanoes of the World Including Solfatara Fields: Melanesia by NH Fisher. International Volcanological Association

North Solomons
New Ireland Province Manus Province East New Britain Province Morobe Province

Milne Bay Province

Central Province

Madang Province

East Sepik Province

Southern Highlands Province Eastern Highlands Province


Papua New Guinea Islands...
Papua New Guinea Towns and Villages...